July 19, 2016

2017 Holidays List for Delhi

The following holidays list for the year 2017 for administrative offices of central government offices located at Delhi/ New Delhi.

Month Date Day Reason / Festival
January 26 Thursday Republic Day
February 24 Friday Maha Shivaratri
March 13 Monday Holi
April 4 Tuesday Ram Navami
April 9 Sunday Mahavir Jayanti
April 14 Friday Good Friday
May 10 Wednesday Buddha Purnima
June 26 MondayIdu'l Fitr
August 15 Tuesday Independence Day 
September 2 Saturday Id-ul-Zuha (Bakrid)
September 30 Saturday Dussehra
October 1 Sunday Muharram
October 2 Monday Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday
October 19 Thursday Diwali (Deepavali)
November 4 Saturday Guru Nanak's Birthday
December 2 SaturdayMilad-un-Nabi or Id-eMilad (birthday of Prophet Mohammad)  
December 25 Monday Christmas Day

Central Government Organisations which include industrial, commercial and trading establishments would observe upto 16 holidays in a year including three national holidays viz. Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's birthday, as compulsory holidays. For offices in Delhi / New Delhi, any change in the date of holidays in respect of Idu'l Fitr, Idu'l Zuha, Muharram and Id-e-Milad, if necessary, depending upon sighting of the Moon, would be declared by the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions after ascertaining the position from the Govt. of NCT of Delhi (DCP, Special Branch, Delhi Police). For offices outside Delhi / New Delhi, the Central Government Employees Welfare Coordination Committees at the State Capitals are authorised to change the date of holiday, if necessary, based on the decision of the concerned State Governments / Union Territories, in respect of Idu'l Fitr, Idu'l Zuha, Muharram and Id-e-Milad.

In respect of Banks, the holidays shall be regulated in terms of the extant instructions issued by the Department of Financial Services, Ministry of Finance. The following list gives you the restricted holidays during the year 2017 for Administrative offices of central government located at Delhi/ New Delhi.

Month Date Day Reason / Festival
January 1 Sunday New Year's Day
January 5 Thursday Guru Govind Singh's Birthday
January 14 Saturday Makar Sankranti
January 14 Saturday Pongal
February 1 Wednesday Basant Panchami / Sri Panchami
February 10 Friday Guru Ravidas's Birthday
February 19 Sunday Shivaji Jayanti 
February 21 TuesdaySwami Dayananda Saraswati Jayanti
March 12 Sunday Holika Dahan/Dolyatra 
March 28 Tuesday Chaitra Sukladi/Gudi Padava/Ugadi/Cheti Chand
April 11 Tuesday Hazarat Ali's Birthday
April 13 Thursday Vaisakhi/Vishu
April 14 Friday Mesadi
April 15 Saturday Vaisakhadi(Bengal)/ Bahag Bihu (Assam)
April 16 SundayEaster
May 9 Tuesday Guru Rabindranath's birthday
June 23 FridayJamat-Ul-Vida
June 25 Sunday Rath Yatra
August 7 Monday Raksha Bandhan
August 15 Tuesday Janmashtarni (Vaishnav)
August 17 Thursday Parsi New Year's day/Nauraj
August 25 Friday Vinayaka Chaturthi / Ganesh Chaturthi
September 4 Monday Onam
September 27 Wednesday Dussehra (Maha Saptami)
September 28 Thursday Dussehra (Maha Ashtami)
September 29 Friday Dussehra (Maha Navmi) 
October 5 Thursday Maharishi Valmiki's Birthday
October 8 Sunday Karaka Chaturthi (Karva Chouth)
October 18 Wednesday Deepavali (South India)
October 18 Wednesday Naraka Chaturdasi
October 20 Friday Govardhan Puja
October 21 Saturday Bhai Duj
October 26 Thursday Pratihar Sashthi or Surya Sashthi (Chhat Puja)
November 24 Friday Guru Teg Bahadur's Martyrdom Day 
December 24 Sunday Christmas Eve