July 13, 2016

Tamil Nadu (TN) Government Holidays 2016 List - Officially Declared

The following list of Holidays are officially declared by Government of Tamil Nadu for the year 2016. The Month, Date, Day and Festival has been given for easy reference. The list is applicable to all Schools, Colleges, Universities, Government Offices/ Organisation and Banks in Tamil Nadu.

Month Date Day Reason / Festival
January 1 Friday New Year
January 15 Friday Pongal
January 16 Saturday Thiruvalluvar Day
January 17 Sunday Uzhavar Thirunal
January 26 Tuesday Republic Day
March 25 Friday Good Friday
April 1 Friday Annual Closing of Accounts for Commercial Banks
& Co-operative Banks (This Holiday is applicable only to all Commercial Banks including Co-operative Banks)
April 8 FridayTelugu New Year
April 14 Thursday  Tamil New Year, Dr. B.R Ambedkar Birthday
April 19 Tuesday Mahaveer Jayanthi
May 1 Sunday May Day
July 7 Thursday Ramzan - Ramadan - Eid al-Fitr
August 15 Monday Independence Day
August 25 Thursday Krishna Jayanthi
September 5 MondayVinayakar Chathurthi
September 13 Tuesday Bakrid - Eid al-Adha
October 2 SundayGandhi Jayanthi
October 10 Monday Ayutha Pooja
October 11 Tuesday Vijaya Dasami
October 12 Wednesday Muharram - Ashura
October 29 Saturday Deepavali - Diwali
December 12 Monday Milad un-Nabi
December 25 Sunday Christmas

Download PDF Version